BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Gray wolves

Trump Administration Moving to Strip Protection From Wolves Across Country

MINNEAPOLIS— The Trump administration this week confirmed it is considering a proposal to strip Endangered Species Action protection from nearly all wolves in the lower 48 states, including the Great Lakes region, making the animals vulnerable to trophy hunting and trapping.

An email statement from Gavin Shire, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s chief of public affairs, said the agency has begun reviewing the status of the gray wolf under the Endangered Species Act and expects to publish a proposal to revise the wolf’s status “by the end of the calendar year.”

“It’s deeply troubling to see the Trump administration trying to prematurely kick wolves off the endangered species list,” said Collette Adkins, a Minneapolis-based biologist and attorney with the Center for Biological Diversity. “Time and again the courts have told the Service that wolves need further recovery before their protections can be removed. But the agency is dead-set on appeasing special interests who want to kill these amazing animals.”

Read more.

Learn more about our work to save gray wolves.

Contact: Collette Adkins

LATEST 10 PRESS RELEASES

June 20, 2018 – House to Consider Two Hardline Immigration Bills That Fully Fund Trump's Wall

June 20, 2018 – Lawsuit Filed to Speed Habitat Protections for Two Appalachian Crayfish

June 20, 2018 – Dozens of Scientists Urge Arkansas to Ban Commercial Turtle Trapping

June 20, 2018 – Trump Administration Moves to Gut National Environmental Policy Act

June 19, 2018 – Senate Republicans Ignore Refugee Children Separated From Families, Push Funding for Trump's Border Wall

June 18, 2018 – Conservation Groups, Citizens Oppose Clark County Effort to Gut Desert Tortoise Protections

June 18, 2018 – After Trump Blasts Elephant Killing, Biased Trophy-hunting Panel to Meet in Atlanta

June 18, 2018 – Death Brings Endangered West Coast Orca Population to Lowest in Decades

June 15, 2018 – Court: No More Permits for Cruel Killing of Washington's Black Bears on Timberlands

June 15, 2018 – Judge Rules Against Sprawling Southern California Mega-warehouse Project

 

+ PRESS RELEASE ARCHIVES

THE CENTER IN THE NEWS

PERSPECTIVES AND OP-EDS

THE CENTER ON MEDIUM

MEDIA-READY SPECIES PHOTOS

MAPS

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252, ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of gray wolves by sharkhat/Flickr Creative Commons